Culinary: Media

Multiple kinds of media are represented here, including print sources, radio and television programs, Internet discussion groups, and blogs maintained by food journalists, food enthusiasts, and chefs.

Blogs (Chefs; Food Enthusiasts)

“All New Orleans Foodies – Foodbuzz”, n.d. http://www.foodbuzz.com/foodies/us/louisiana/new_orleans.
Besh et al. “Besh Restaurant Group”, n.d. http://www.chefjohnbesh.com/.
Branley, Edward. “YatPundit’s Blog | YatCuisine”, n.d. http://food.yatpundit.com/blog/1.
Brennan et al. “Chef’s Lagniappe, Dickie Brennan”, n.d. http://www.chefslagniappe.com/.
Ehret, Mary. “Native Palate”, n.d. http://nativepalate.blogspot.com/.
Folse, John. “Chef John Folse & Company”, n.d. http://www.jfolse.com/newfindrecipe.htm.
Gaudin, Lorin. “Lorin Gaudin”, n.d. http://loringaudin.com/.
Glatz, Lindsay. “Seafood Is Best… Fresh.” Ralph Brennan’s New Orleans Seafood Blog, April 23, 2008. http://ralphbrennancookbook.blogspot.com/2008/04/seafood-is-best-fresh.html.
Harris, Jessica. “Africooks.com”, n.d. http://africooks.com/.
Johnson, Pableaux. “Bayou Dog | Pableaux Johnson”, n.d. http://www.bayoudog.com/.
Lagasse et al. “Cooking Blog: Emerils.com”, n.d. http://www.emerils.com/cooking-blog/.
“NOLA Beer Bitch”, n.d. http://www.nolabeerbitch.com/.
“Nola Cuisine”, n.d. http://www.nolacuisine.com/.
“Nolafoodie”, n.d. http://nolafoodie.com/.
Nystrom, Justin. “Table d’Hôte Nystrom”, n.d. http://nystromtable.blogspot.com/.
Pearce, Elizabeth. “Elizabeth Pearce | Blog”, n.d. http://www.elizabeth-pearce.com/blog.
“Ralph Brennan’s New Orleans Seafood Blog”, n.d. http://ralphbrennancookbook.blogspot.com/.
“SFA Blog”, n.d. http://southernfoodways.blogspot.com/.
“The Beer BuddhaTM: A New Orleans Beer Blog”, n.d. http://www.thebeerbuddha.com/.
Uzee, Celeste. “Bouillie”, n.d. http://bouillie.wordpress.com/.
Young, Ashley. “Lena Richard: Pioneer in Food TV: Introduction.” Lena Richard, February 15, 2012. http://lenarichard.blogspot.com/2012/02/introduction.html.

Food & Drink Columnists

Gaudin, Lorin. “Lorin Gaudin”, n.d. http://loringaudin.com/.
Marszalek, Keith I., Tales of the Cocktail, and Christina Gaspari. “Cocktail Recipes – NOLA.com”, n.d. http://www.nola.com/cocktails/.
Price, Todd. “New Orleans Bar Guide – NOLA.com”, n.d. http://www.nola.com/bar-guide/.
———. “New Orleans Drinks & Drinking – NOLA.com”, n.d. http://www.nola.com/drink/.

Food Forums

Fitzmorris, Tom. “Talk Food With Tom Fitzmorris • View Forum – Talk Food With Tom Fitzmorris”, n.d. http://www.nomenu.com/talkfood/viewforum.php?f=3.
“Food and Drink Discussion @ TigerDroppings.com”, n.d. http://www.tigerdroppings.com/rant/b/45/Food-and-Drink-Board.aspx.
“Louisiana: Cooking & Baking – eG Forums”, n.d. http://forums.egullet.org/index.php?/forum/307-louisiana-cooking-baking/.
“Louisiana: Dining – eG Forums”, n.d. http://forums.egullet.org/index.php?/forum/132-louisiana-dining/.
“Mr. Lake’s New Orleans Forum • View Forum – Mr. Lake’s Nonpompous Food Forum”, n.d. http://mrlake.fncinc.net/viewforum.php?f=2.
“New Orleans – Chowhound”, n.d. http://chowhound.chow.com/boards/9.
“New Orleans Food – NewOrleans.Com Forums”, n.d. http://forums.neworleans.com/forumdisplay.php?f=48.
“New Orleans Restaurant Reviews | Dining Guide to the Best Restaurants”, n.d. http://www.zagat.com/neworleans.
“NOLA.com Wine Lovers Forum”, n.d. http://www.nola.com/forums/wine/.

Print

Delectable: New Orleans Area Food Magazine. Mandeville, LA: Chicks Media, LLC, 2005.
“Edible New Orleans Magazine – Local Food Magazine of New Orleans Louisiana”, n.d. http://www.ediblecommunities.com/neworleans/.
Johnson, Pableaux. New Orleans: From French Quarter Creole Dining to the Perfect Poboy. Woodstock, VT: Countryman Press, 2005.
“Louisiana Cookin’ | Authentic Recipes, Unique Culture”, n.d. http://www.louisianacookin.com/.
“New Orleans Food and Dining – Recipes – Restaurant Blog”, n.d. http://www.myneworleans.com/My-New-Orleans/Food-Dining/.
Rose, Judy. “Real New Orleans Cooking Is a Stunning Blend of Ingredients and Ethnic Traditions.” Detroit Free Press. Detroit, February 25, 1998.

Radio & Television

McCaffrey, Kevin. We Live to Eat: New Orleans’ Love Affair with Food. Video, Documentary. ePrime Productions, 2007. http://hnoc.tamretail.net/SelectSKU.aspx?skuid=1004793.
“New Orleans Food | WWOZ New Orleans 90.7 FM”, n.d. http://www.wwoz.org/new-orleans-community/food.
“Online NewsHour: Hurricane Katrina Evacuees Still Far From Home — December 15, 2005.” Jim Lehrer News Hour, n.d. http://www.pbs.org/newshour/bb/weather/july-dec05/evacuees_12-15.html.
Sonnier, Mary. “‘The Chef Show.’ WRBH 88.3 FM – Reading Radio.” Interview. The Chef Show, n.d. http://www.wrbhradio.org/schedule/index.html.
“The Food Show with Tom Fitzmorris”, n.d. http://audio.wwl.com/s/994208/the-food-show-with-tom-fitzmorris.htm.
Tooker, Poppy. “Louisiana Eats, WWNO Feature Program”, n.d. http://www.publicbroadcasting.net/wwno/news.newsmain?action=section&SECTION_ID=7150.
“Where Y’Eat WWNO”, n.d. http://www.publicbroadcasting.net/wwno/news.newsmain?action=section&SECTION_ID=6609.

Restaurant Reviews

Anderson, Brett. “Brett Anderson – NOLA.com”, n.d. http://blog.nola.com/brettanderson/index.html.
Collin, Richard H. The Revised New Orleans Underground Gourmet. A Fireside Book; New York: Simon and Schuster, 1973.
Fitzmorris, Tom. “Dining Diary: New Orleans Menu, Tom Fitzmorris”, n.d. http://www.nomenu.com/joomla1/index.php?option=com_content&view=section&id=10&Itemid=287.
———. “New Orleans City Business » Dining Out”, n.d. http://neworleanscitybusiness.com/blog/category/news/dining-out/.
McNulty, Ian. “Gambit New Orleans Food & Drink News”, n.d. http://www.bestofneworleans.com/gambit/food-and-drink/Section?oid=1222777.
———. “Gambit New Orleans Restaurant Reviews”, n.d. http://www.bestofneworleans.com/gambit/restaurant-review/Category?oid=1222796.
“New Orleans » Restaurants – Yelp”, n.d. http://www.yelp.com/c/new-orleans/restaurants.
“New Orleans Restaurant Reviews | Dining Guide to the Best Restaurants”, n.d. http://www.zagat.com/neworleans.
“New Orleans Restaurants | Urbanspoon”, n.d. http://www.urbanspoon.com/c/57/New-Orleans-restaurants.html.

Version: Spring 2012

© 2012 New Orleans Research Collaborative Image credits are here